Sunday, December 21, 2008

"Walk Two Moons" by Sharon Creech

Salamanaca Hiddle is in the car, and on her way to Idaho with her grandparents. On the way Sal tells the story of Phoebe Winterbottom, her friend in Idaho. Why is she in the car going to Idaho and why is she telling the story of Phoebe? She is in the car to go and find her mother who left her and her father. Sal feels the if she can make it to Lewiston, Idaho by her mother's birthday there could be a way her mother could come back. She is telling the story of Phoebe because her grandparent wanted to hear a story. But as the story she is telling keeps coming out, her own story is coming out as well. You will meet Phoebe, the girl who believes in lunatics and ax murderers, Ben who's hair smells like grapefruit, Mrs. Cadaver, the lady with wild hair, Mr. Birkway, a strange english teacher, and Sal, a girl who wants to find her mother and discovers more about herself during the trip. One thing Sal does learn is, don't judge a person until you've walked two moons in his moccasins.

I love this book. I give it 5 stars for being creative, funny, and entertaining. I will read it again many times.

"Uglies" by Scott Westerfeld

Tally has lived in the city her whole life. Things are getting good in her life. She has a new best friend named Shay who she met in New Pretty Town while sneaking over and causing a huge commotion. Because of the problem Shay thinks Tally is really tricky. Tally is also turning 16. At 16 you get an operation that turns you into a pretty, what every ugly dreams of. But the day that the operation comes, Shay has run away a week before to the smoke, and Tally goes to Special Circumstances. They say that Tally has to go and find her friend or never turn pretty. So maybe things aren't so good.

I love the book Uglies. There are so many things that shock you during the book and I loved every minute the first time I read it. I give it 5 stars easily. Everyone should read it.

Tuesday, December 2, 2008

"Cleopatra VII: Daughter of the Nile" by Kristiana Gregory

I just finished a book called Cleopatra VII, and it's a really good book. This book is about the 12 year old princess of Egypt, and her troubles throughout the book such as an untrusted plotting sister, trouble in Rome, and an assassin. This book has many surprises, twists and turns. This is a historical fiction book. If you like adventure and surprises, this is the book for you.

Saturday, November 22, 2008

"The New Prophecy, Warriors: Midnight" by Erin Hunter

In the forest there are clans of cats. These clans are united by their ancestors of Starclan. One cat from each of the clans has a dream that they think is from the star clan that leads them to a place in the forest called Fourtrees. From the wind clan the young Crowpaw is chosen, from the river clan the warrior Feathertail is chosen and brings the warrior Stormfur along, from the shadow clan Tawnypelt is chosen and from thunder clan Brambleclaw is chosen and brings along the apprentice Squirlepaw along. All of the chosen cats have a dream and then decide that they will leave and go to a place they are not sure of that is far out of the forest. They are calling this place the sun drown place because when Brambleclaw has another dream he sees a river which he falls into. It is very salty water and just before he wakes up tasting salt he almost drowns and falls into a placed with spikes coming up out of the ground and that is where the sun is setting looking as though it was eating the sun. As they are on their way more of the cats have the salt water dream. Eventually all of the chosen cats have the dream. The dream seems to be a sign that they are going in the correct direction. They meet an old tabby tom and call him Purdy. He says that he knows where the sun drown place is and the clan cats follow him. Some of the cats starts to decide that they do not want to follow him because they are not going in the correct direction because the sun is setting in the opposite direction that they are heading. When they are passing through a two leg place and meet up with a bunch of rats they fight. They fight them off but Brambleclaw is afraid of his sister Tawnypelt being OK because of one of her wounds.
At the next ceremony at Fourtrees all of the clans are wondering where these six cats have gone. Squirlpaw’s sister Leafpaw is the only one that knows about where they have gone but promised not to tell. She wants to tell her father, Firestar, the thunder clan leader where his daughter and the thunder clan warrior Brambleclaw have disappeared to. After the ceremony Cinderpelt, the thunder clan medicine cat and Leafpaw’s mentor, asks Leafpaw if she knows anything about where Squirlpaw was. Leafpaw tells Cinderpelt than all she knows is that Squirlpaw was far away with the cats from the other clans and that they were OK but did not know where they were or what they were doing. Cinderpelt told her to tell her father, Firestar, so that he would be at least a little bit less worried.
When she gets back from the ceremony she asks Cinderpelt if she can have some burdock roots because she thought that her sister might be helped by it as Leafpaw was given dreams showing the cats being all right and what not as if the sisters were given visions of what each other were doing from their ancestors in star clan.
When the 4 chosen cats and the 2 cats who followed along got to another forest with the help from an old tabby tom’s guidance. While they are hunting Squirlepaw realizes that burdock root is they cure for rat bits. They message from her sister worked!! This forest was very near to the sun drown place. When they got to the place they tasted the air and tasted, a badger!
This badger could talk heir language!! She was midnight. They had not come here waiting until for a time to speak with Starclan. They had come to speak to a badger who had traveled far and had talked to many different animals. She was able to talk to their ancestors in Starclan. She told the cats that there was danger coming to the forest and they needed to get all of the clans to work together and get out of the forest as soon as they could. The two legs were making a new thunder path right in their forest! They must get their clans out fast. Will they get out before they are destroyed by the two legs?
I give this book five stars and think that you should read it too.

Friday, November 21, 2008

"A Great and Terrible Beauty" by Libba Bray

This is about Gemma Doyle.A girl whose mother was killed in India, and sent to Spence,a finishing school in London where she discovers she has the power to enter a diffrent realm. When she takes her newly found friends Felicity,Pippa and Ann to the realms, She find her deceased Mother, and they vist often. But when Kartik, A member of the protection of the Order, begins to warn her about Circe, otherwise known as Sarah Rees-toome, Leads Gemma To strange diary of someone none of the girls ever heared of, And the discovers that Mary Dowd went to spence,and is dead and the her mother in Mary Dowd,things go bad. Will Circe win?

Monday, November 17, 2008

"Because of Winn-Dixie" by Kate DiCamillo

One day India Opal Buloni goes to the supermarket, and brings home something that no one would expect. A dog she named after the Winne-Dixie supermarket. Why does she bring this dog home? Because she wanted to save him for going to the pound and she told the manager that that he was her dog. In the beginning she is a little iffy about the dog, but soon she falls for the charming smile, and the great personality. This dog helps her out more than she thinks though. Winne-Dixie helps her meet Miss. Franny Block, Otis, and Gloria Dump. Opal probably would've had a different experience if she hadn't met Winne-Dixie, and she might just help some people along the way.
I give Because of Winne-Dixie 5 stars because it is a charming story full of laughs, and tears. I have read it more than once, and I loved it every time.

"Bridge to Terabithia" by Katherine Paterson

Jess Aarons has one goal for his fifth grade year, to be the fastest. On the first day it is time to race, and Jess isn't concerned at all. But a new girl {Leslie Burke} joins the race. She is the only girl to ever race. Jess is still not concerned. But she beats every boy, even Jess! Even Jess is surprised. Even more surprising, she is Jess's new neighbor. He soon falls for Leslie's imagination and together they create the magical land of Terabithia which you enter by swinging over the creek on the magical rope. All of the adventures play a part in their life, but could it cost them something great? After a terrible day, Jess realizes that he is alone now, and nothing will ever change. Will the thought of Leslie keep him going?

I would give Bridge to Terabithia 5 stars. All of the emotion and the plot keep you sucked into the book. It is a timeless classic to me and other people probably think that too. I really recommend this book.

Friday, November 14, 2008

"The Summer Sherman Loved Me" by Jane St. Anthony

If you like 12-year-old puppy love, and little squirrels, and sweet talk on the patio you will LOVE this book. "The Summer Sherman Loved Me," by Jane St. Anthony, is about a 12-year-old boy who is in love with Margret, but Margret has to find her feeling for Sherman and her mother does not help. But when Sherman takes a nasty fall Margret starts to.......
I liked this book because I think it is like a little fairy tale. It was funny and it was sad, and the relationship between Margret and her mother is like a lot of relationships I know.
I would recomend this book for readers that like fairy tales, romance, and a good read.
I would rate this book a 4 out of 5 because i think this book could have a little more detail.

Thursday, November 6, 2008

"Storey's Guide to Raising Pigs" by Kelly Klober

This book is awesome!! It will teach you anything you want to know about pigs. It will tell you about basic care and emergency care. It will help you if you want to go to the breeding business. That or maybe you just think there just soooo cute. I would really recommend this book if you just want to get a pig because they look cute. I believe this because most problems happen to a pig when the owner does this. I had to reed the book to be able to get a pig and I got one. I wanted to breed them so I read the book and it had everything about that in there. If you the not afraid of blood type the book teaches you to how to butcher as well. This book is great for a helping expert hog raiser. That means that a novice at hogs would exceed above and beyond expectations. It also shows how to make pens, homes, food and containers. This book gots it all! Including how to take care of them if they have a major medical attention what to do. All the steps in breeding is in this bookbecuase you cant just put two pigs together and breed. You have to know the steps that of which are in the greatest book of all time. This one. Have fun!

Tuesday, November 4, 2008

"Samurai Shortstop" by Alan Gratz

In this historical fiction book, Toyo Shimada is a first year at his new boarding school. School is rough for him because the seniors get amusement from beating up the first years and tormenting them. Toyo's father and uncle are both samurai and before Toyo starts school, he has to help his uncle commit seppuku, (suicide). Toyo sees that his school has a baseball team and he wants to join but the seniors say girls can't join the team. Toyo tried and tries but never convinces the seniors to let him on the team. His father teaches him the way of the samurai, called Bushido. This helps Toyo focus and play better to make the team. He teaches the team Bushido and they become good enough to beat an American team which is like winning the Super Bowl ten times in a row. But how does this affect Toyo's relationship with his father? His father does not like baseball, and thinks it is a disgrace for his son to play it. But will he change his mind?? I love baseball and books about history so this was a very good book for me to read. I read through this book in like three days so I wish it was longer, because I didn't want to put it down. Anyone who enjoys history, baseball, and some humor in a book should totally pick this one up and give it a try. This is definitely a five star book.
This is a must read book. I'm glad I read it.

Sunday, November 2, 2008

"Bloodline: Reckoning" by Kate Cary

This is the sequel to the book "Bloodline" by Kate Cary. To understand this book you must read the first book.
In this horror fiction book, Quincey Harker, is out to find Mary Seward. He seeks help from her after his finance Lily commits suicide in the first book. He wants to rid himself of his vampire ways. He tries to just show himself to Mary but it scares her and leads her to believe that all the patients falling ill at the infirmary she works at is the doing of Quincey. But it isn't. Quincey tries talking to her in a church where he cannot harm her. She tries to believe him but can't. What will Quincey have to do to make Mary believe that he wants to rid himself of his evil ways and that he truly loves her? Read this amazing book to find out! I really enjoyed reading this book. It is definitely a page turner that you won't want to put down. If you enjoy books that are adventurous and kind of scary, you need to read this book. I would have to rate this book 5 stars.
Thanks for reading my post, comment me if you have any questions about the book or if you want to let me know what you think about my post.

Saturday, November 1, 2008

"Catherine: The Great Journey" by Kristiana Gregory

This book is about a young princess named Sophie. She receives a letter from the empress of Russia to come and be the grand duchess, marry the duke Peter and rule all of Russia after her. Sophie's name is changed to Catherine and she has to change her religion an d language to Impress the empress in order to keep her duty and rule Russia after empress Elizabeth. when the grand duke peter gets sick Catherine is afraid that measles and other dangerous and killing sicknesses will make have to leave Russia after the grand duke dies. luckily the grand duke survives but will be able to cover up the scars from his sickness to show his face in public, or even in front of Catherine ever again?

I give this book five stars and think that you should read it to.

Friday, October 31, 2008

"A Coal Miner's Bride: The Diary of Anetka Kaminska" by Susan Campbell Bartoletti

This book was one of my favorites. Anetka Kaminska,a polish immagrant,come to America because her Father gave her away to marry A man named Stanley Garywich. Only to find love to a man named Leon Nasivich.Leon,an ex-soilder of the current Zaar,Comes with Anetka to America. After Stanley and Anetka are are married, troubles arise and Stanley is killed in a mine fall. So Anetka goes from wife to widow in a matter of months. Now that she is open, leon takes that chance.1 One month later,there is a riot and leon is shot. Does he survive? Only way to find out is to read it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Wednesday, October 29, 2008

"To Catch a Pirate" by Jade Parker

this is about a girl named Annalisa whose fathers ship is help captive by pirates.the main pirate,James sterling,finds Annalisa in the hold. Many sailors were killed,but her father,and Nathanial Northrup(the family friend),And annalisa mange to escape unhamred.But 2 years later James and Annalisa meet again and James is taken captive by her.A certain romance builds up beetween them.Is their love by fate or lust.

Monday, October 27, 2008

"Unwind" by Neal Shusterman

Shusterman has done it again - taken the thread of reality as we know it today and unspooled its length straight into a nightmarish future that seems totally possible. Connor, Risa, and Lev are three teens who, by choice or circumstance, are slated as "Unwounds" - kids who are soon to be "harvested" for their body parts. In a society that has experienced and lived through the horror of a war between pro-choice and pro-life factions, parents can choose to have the lives of their teens "altered" to benefit the rest of humankind by the donation of their very bodies.

Although they have different degrees of dedication to the "cause", Connor, Risa, and Lev have all escaped their trip to the harvest camp, and find themselves literally running for their lives. Shusterman develops the three characters at the same time he creates a chilling atmosphere of fear and suspicion. One of the most terrifying passages I've ever read is the chapter in which the unwinding of one teen unfolds through his thoughts and words.

I'd rate this page-turner FIVE out of five stars.

Sunday, October 5, 2008

"New Moon" by Stephenie Meyer

WARNING! This is the sequel to Twilight by Stephenie Meyer, so if you haven't read it it will spoil it.
Bella Swan is a regular high school student, facing regular problems, except for one tiny thing. She has a vampire boy friend! Everything seems normal too. But one day Edward starts to act strange. He's quiet.The worst thing that could happen, happens. Edward leaves! Bella is crushed and only one thing can get her through this. Jacob Black. Bella relies on him to be her sunshine and he is. But what happens when Jacob is drawn into a mysterious cult, and Bella doesn't know what to do?
Read New Moon by Stephenie Meyer.

New Moon is great. I give it four stars. Why? Because the whole time with Jacob makes you want Edward to come back. I loved it.

" Tornado" by Betsy Byars

If you are looking for a good book then look for the book Tornado. This book is about a boy and his family. One day a surprise tornado hits the farm, Pete tell a story of when he was younger and they had a tornado. During this tornado a doghouse had flown to their yard and when they looked inside they saw a big black dog! They named him tornado. When Pete went with his dad to the town for lumber, a little girl saw the dog in the back of the truck and started calling him buddy. The little girl said that she had lost him in the tornado at the same time that Pete and his family had found Tornado. Pete was so upset. One day when he was doing work in the barn, Pete thought he was hearing Tornado scratching at the door because he missed him so. When he turned around to look to see what was making all of the noise he saw Tornado. Tornado must have run away from the little girl to come back to Pete and his family. When his father saw the dog he told Pete that the dog would have to stay here and not come with them to the town if he wanted to keep the dog. If the little girl found out where he was though he would have to give him up again.
I give this book five stars and think that you should read it too.

Wednesday, October 1, 2008

"Gilgamesh" By John Gardner and John Maier

This book contains a translation and interpretation of the great epic, Gilgamesh. It was written down upon many stone tablets thousands of years ago in ancient Mesopotamia. It is the tale of the great king Gilgamesh, a mortal beyond all others. It tells of how he met and befriended Enkidu, how the two of them battled against Humbaba in the cedar forest and against the bull of the heavens. I enjoyed reading this epic poem, though most of it was lost. I also enjoyed reading the interpretations of this poem. I give this fantastical epic a five of five stars.

Tuesday, September 30, 2008

"Scare School" by R.L. Stine

I like this book because it is about a magical creature called an imp and the imp is
terrorizing the school and the main character is named Sam and he kills the imp.
I think this is a four out of five star book.

Monday, September 29, 2008

"Anacaona" by Edwidge Danticat

Anacaona is an interesting book. Anacaona was the princess of an island of Xatagua in Haiti in the 1490's. She has a brother named Behechio, Baba and Bibi (mother and father). She moves to another island called Maguana when she marries Chief Canabo and becomes queen of that island. She trains to defeat the Killan and to protect her land from all harm. Later she has a baby . When some white men come to attack and take away their gold Anacaona, Canabo and their warriors defeat them. She defeated the white men to not only protect her land but to protect her baby. She meets a woman from Maguana and makes friends with her. When ever she needs help she is there for her. I highly recommend the book Anacaona to you.
I give this book five stars.

Friday, September 19, 2008

"Twilight" by Stephenie Meyer

Bella Swan is moving to Forks, Washington { practically the rainiest place on Earth} from Phoenix, Arizona, to live with her dad, Charlie. But on the first day of school Bella notices a table of kids anything but normal. But it's not that they are weird. They are more beautiful than anything Bella has ever seen. The best part is that one of them actually notices her. He is probably the most beautiful of all to Bella, with his bronze hair and pale skin. But then he glares at her for no reason with horrible black eyes, and he looks pained just sitting next to her in biology. The next day he is gone, and every day he is gone Bella wonders if it was all her fault.

Twilight was so awesome. I give it 5 Stars all the way. I think many people would love this book. So many people are already reading it because whenever I'm in the library it is never there. People who love romance and vampire books would love this book.

Tuesday, September 16, 2008

"The Diary of Anne Frank" by Anne Frank

As you can tell from the title, this book is in fact the diary of Anne Frank, a young girl that died in a Concentration Camp during the Holocaust.

For her 13th birthday, Anne gets a diary and writes in it as much as she can for two years as her and 7 other hide out in "The Secret Annex" for 25 months. Through-out the book, Anne writes so many detailed entries that you feel as if you were there with Anne and talking with her.

I enjoyed this story very much. I got a very good feel of what the time period was like and how wretched WW2 was. I would rate this Non-Fiction book a 5 out of 5 stars and would recommend this book to any reader.

Thursday, September 11, 2008

"Demon Keeper" by Royce Buckingham

This book is about a kid named Nat. He runs a house full of demons all by himself.When he goes off on a date with a girl.A demon called the beast gets out .
Also a mystery man comes can Nat handle the pressure?

I thought this book was so awesome I did not want to put it down.One of the most scariest parts were when the beast killed some people.A funny part was when a demon got put in the microwave. I laughed so hard a how it happened it was so funny. It is a good book for the people who like humor/horror. I gave it 5 out of 5 stars!

Sunday, August 24, 2008

"Hattie Big Sky" by Kirby Larson

Hattie Big Sky is an inspirational book about a young girl looking for a better life. She trys to find it by going to work on her uncle's homestead out in Montana. She finds that everything is going to need alot of work including the house if you can even call it that. She goes through long and enduring work to plant all her crops and harvest them on time. She makes new friends that always willing to help her out but still there are some people that don't believe that a woman, especially of her age, should run a homestead by herself.

In Hattie's hard life will she still find time for herself to relax? Will she get the crops harvested on time? Find out in this exciting journey through the eyes of a young lonely girl in Hattie Big Sky. I would give this book a 4 out of 5.

Wednesday, August 13, 2008

"Buddha Boy" By Kathe Koja

This book focuses on a boy named Justin as he gets to know a boy called Jinsen, or as he is labeled by the others at school, "Buddha Boy." He wears over sized tie-dyed T-shirts with dragons on them, his head is shaven, he is always smiling, and is considered a freak. He also begs for change at lunch like a monk, and doesn't let things get to him. Normally, Justin would just avoid a person like Jinsen, but they are teamed up for a class project. At first, Justin just wants is to be over quickly, so he doesn't have to be around this strange kid. But Justin then learns of Jinsen's amazing talent in art, and then he starts to like him. However, none of the kids at school seem to feel the same, especially McManus, the school's social leader. I enjoyed reading this book, it helped me understand a little more about Buddhism, art, understanding, and Karma. I also enjoyed how the words were used together, making this book not only a story, but a work of art. I would recommend this book to anyone age 13 or over (due to language). I give this wondrous fantasy a five of five stars.

Thursday, July 31, 2008

"The Hobbit" by J.R.R. Tolkien

Thirteen dwarves, one wizard, and one hobbit, in one BIG adventure... One fine Spring day an unexpected party of dwarves arrives on the doorstep of a homely hobbit; Bilbo Baggins. Little does this innocent hobbit know that he is about to partake in an unforgetable quest that will change his life forever. The next day they all woke up bright-eyed ad bushy-tailed ready for an early start on their adventure. On their adventure they meet many creatures; big, small, evil, pleasant etc. They make many friends and enemies along the way. When they finally reach their destination they still have to defeat the most horrid, evil, loathed creature of them all; Smaug...

Do the dwarves and Bilbo defeat the Almighty Smaug? Do they recieve the treasure they were looking for? What is going to happpen!?! Find out in "The Hobbit" the prelude to the series
"The Lord of the Rings".

I would rate this book five out of five stars. If you are a Harry Potter fan you will enjoy this series!!

"Everlost" by Neal Shusterman

Allie and Nick didn't survive in the car crash.Nick and Allie both saw the light but knocked into each other and fell off course into a place called Everlost. Soon after, Nick and Allie met a boy named Leif who they found in the woods also stuck in between life and death. Nick and Allie wanted to leave the woods and find their family to see if they survived the crash. Leif decided to also leave but was scared that they would run into the McGill, an Everlost monster.Instead of finding McGill, they found a civilization of kids under the power of Mary Hightower, an Everlost queen. Nick and Lief love Mary, but Allie does not. Allie doesn't want anyone to be the boss of her. Allie leaves Mary's kingdom and soon discovers that she has special powers that will cause her to have a run in with the powerful McGill.
I rate this fiction book 5 out of 5. I thought the author was very creative. It was amazing how she could come up with the characters and the different scenes.It felt like I was actually in the book.

"After" by Francine Prose

The book started with a shooting in Pleasant Valley which was fifty miles away from a school called Central High. Because of the shooting, Central High hired a grief and crisis counselor. Now the school had security, lockers were being checked and privileges were being taken away. The students thought this was ridiculous because the shooting wasn't near them. Now if anyone broke the rules their punishment would be worse than before. There would be new rules everyday . Too many to keep track of. Tom, the main character feels like he's in a prison. And there is no way to escape. Just when he thought things couldn't get any worse students and teachers start disappearing. No one can stop it. The students aren't focusing on their school work anymore. They are focusing on not breaking any rules because if they did they would never be seen again. Many more things started happening that were even worse. The parents were hypnotized when they read their emails about the changes in the school. The kids couldn't tell their parents what was really happening. Tom tries to tell his dad what has been happening but, he doesn't believe Tom. Tom has to struggle not to break any rules because he may never be seen again.

I rate this fiction book a 5 out of 5 because the book was very suspensful and thrilling. Once I started reading I couldn't stop.

"The Creek" Jennifer L. Holm

Penny and her family moved to Mockingbird Lane. Penny heard her friends talked about a boy named Caleb who used to terrorize the town. He used to set fires hurt kids, and animals. Penny and her family weren't concerned though because he left years ago. Now Caleb's came back to harm the town more than he did before. Everyone in the town was terrified of him now because he was more dangerous than ever. All of the things that Caleb did before were happening again. When one of Penny's friend's house almost burned down, Penny starts to think that she is in danger. Penny starts to get paranoid and is to scared to leave her own home. Penny and her friends know that it was Caleb doing all of the terrible things to the town, but the police can't do anything about it because they don't have any evidence. The kids decide that if no one is going to do anything then they have to stop Caleb themselves. Except now they are in greater danger. Caleb is now after them.
I loved this fiction this book. It was a thriller. I didn't know what to expect. I had to keep reading to figure out what would happen next. I would rate this book a 5 out of 5.

"The Seance" by Joan Lowery Nixon

Lauren never really liked her adopted sister Sarah. Lauren was adopted herself butSarah was prettier than she was and got all the boys and attention. When Sarah told Lauren that she met a girl named Roberta who could talk to "spirits", Sarah got an idea that they should have a Seance with a bunch of their friends. Lauren didn't like the idea but said she would go because all her friends wanted her to be there. When it came to the night of the Seance everyone was freaked out about it and wanted to back out. They went on with it anyway thinking that nothing would go wrong. Everyone sat in a circle and Roberta started saying something under her breath. Then the light fell over and went out. Sarah screamed and said , "something is wrong here". Everyone got up and tried to look for a light switch. When they got the light on Sarah was missing. No one knew what happened to her. So the kids called the police and they came right away. He added up all the clues and told the girls to go home. A couple of days later Sarah was found dead in a pond. All the girls were getting letters that were threatening them. Soon another girl who did the seance was found dead in the same place they found Sarah. Can the rest of the girls find out answer to the mystery before it's too late?

I would rate this fiction book 5 out of 5 because it was very suspensful. I was excited to see what would happen next.

"Hostage" by Willo Davis Roberts

Kaci wanted some excitement in her life but, there would be no way she would be ready for the excitement that was about to come.
Kaci's parents didn't like the neighborhood they lived in. The parents thought it wasn't safe so they wouldn't let their kids go ride their bike or walk alone. The family decided that they were going to move to safe and expensive house all the way across town. A week after Kaci's parents accepted the offer there was a robbery across the street from their old house. The family reported the robbery to the police and said that there was a white truck in front of their neighbors drive way. Unfortunately the police didn't catch the robbers. In a couple of weeks the family moved into their new home. The home was great. The only thing that was bothering Kaci was her allergies. She tried to forget about it and left for school. Later in the day though she went to the school nurse asking if she could go home to get her allergy medicine. The nurse said it was fine so Kaci left school expecting to be back by lunch time. While walking home her nosy neighbor named Mrs. Banducci stopped her to ask why there was a huge truck in there driveway that morning. Kaci kind of ignored it and kept walking. Kaci first noticed that her door was unlocked. She also notices that there were some items that were missing from the house. That's when she noticed she wasn't along in the house. She knew she had to get out quick but, how could she when the robbers were in the same room as she was in blocking the door. Kaci would get the excitement she wanted but, she would be fighting to save her life.
This fiction book was very suspenseful and addicting . I would rate this book 5 out of 5 . Once I started the book I couldn't put it down.

Tuesday, July 22, 2008

"Yu-Gi-Oh! Duelist" By Kazuki Takahashi

Yu-Gi-Oh is about a boy named Yugi in the tenth grade who solved the Millennium Puzzle. Upon doing this, another spirit entered his body. Yu-Gi-Oh, the King of Games. He is a dark avenger who challenges evildoers to "Shadow Games" of life and Death. This book picks up right after the Duelist Kingdom series. The story starts with Yugi's Grandpa Mutou sweeping outside his games shop. Yugi's friend Anzu then comes by to walk to school with Yugi. Grandpa Mutou yells this to Yugi and it shows him in his room wearing the Millennium Puzzle on a chain. Yugi's other self tells him that it looks good on him, but Yugi says it's kinda flashy. Yugi's other self then says, "It's still too subtle if you ask me! I think you need some silver chains on your arms!" Yugi yells back. "C'mon! that isn't my style at all!" Yugi then runs out to meet with Anzu. She questions him about the new chain. Yugi explains that the puzzle is an important bond between him and his other self and the chain shows that too. The two of them start walking to school. Anzu tells Yugi that she's glad to see Mr. Mutou doing so well. She says to Yugi that it was scary when Pegasus stole his soul (during the duelist kingdom series). Yugi then tells her that his Grandpa's not too happy right now. Anzu asks why, and Grandpa Mutou yells out, "I thought you'd never ask!! I, Sugoroku Mutou, at 72 years of age, am facing my biggest crisis ever! MY STORE IS IN DANGER OF GOING OUT OF BUISNESS! BEHOLD! OVER THERE!" He then pointed to a large shop called Black Crown. According to Yugi, the store sells the newest games, and it's having it's grand opening tomorrow. Grandpa Mutou says that the games at the store can't be purchased anywhere else. Curious, Yugi decides to go over to the new game shop. He sees a clown with a poster on it's back advertising the shop's new game, "D.D.M." Anzu then tells Yugi that they'll be late for school and better leave. The clown then says, "So that brat is Yugi.." "That's him all right," replied the person next to him "That baby-faced little kid is supposed to be some kind of super-gamer.." He then turned to the clown and said, "But is it true Dad..? Did you really lose a game to that guy Mutou..? "yes it's true.." replied his father, "It was because of that game that I have to wear this mask to cover my face.." "I can't forgive them." His son replied. "Ryuji...I raised you to take revenge for me!" He told his son. "I know Dad," Ryuji said, "Watch by one, I'll take away everything Yugi cares about. Get ready Yugi, I invented all kinds of games just to fight you! I will beat you! For my Father! and for the title of "King of Games!" And to start with, Today I'll steal something important to you..." This is a great fictional manga, especially if you like games. 5 of 5 stars.

Friday, July 18, 2008

"Shaman King" by Hiroyuki Takei

Shaman King is a manga about a boy named Yoh Asakura. While most people only scoff at the idea of ghosts, he befriends them. The story begins with a short kid running through town after cram school (Just a heads-up, he's not Yoh). He cuts through the cemetery when someone asks him what his hurry is. The short kid looks up to see a kid sitting on top of a gravestone looking up into the sky with a pair of headphones on. The short kid mistakes him for a ghost and runs, only to have the kid on the gravestone ask him what his hurry was again. He then says, "Stargaze with us. There's a sky full of beautiful stars. Want to look at 'em with us?" The short kid corrects him, telling him that he shouldn't use us when referring to himself. The headphone kid then gets off the gravestone, and replies, "But I mean with all of us...The Whole Cemetery!" As he says this, a huge group of ghosts surround the headphone kid. The short kid stares with wide eyes, and the headphone kid says to him, "Take it easy. These are my friends...even if they are a bunch of bums who couldn't get into heaven. The short kid then just freaks out. The next day at school, the short kid tries to tell a group of students about what he say. One of them just replies, "You're out of your [censored due to standards] mind, Manta." (Told you he wasn't Yoh.) The teacher then comes in, and announces that there's a new student. He looks just like the kid Manta saw in the cemetery. The teacher says that his name's Yoh Asakura and that he moved from Izumo all by himself for family reasons. Manta recognizes him, and tells everyone that he's the one he say in the cemetery with the ghosts. Yoh then tells him that there's no such thing as ghosts and that he's never seen him before. Manta then decides to follow him after school to get the proof he needs to expose him. He ends up spending 3 hours watching Yoh stare at a river. He then blows his cover, and ends up telling Yoh why he was following him. Yoh then asks Manta if he was following him because he denied knowing him at school. Yoh then tells him that if everyone knew his secret, they'll drive him crazy. He tells Manta that he moved here for advanced training, and that he's a Shaman. I'd have to give this series a five of five stars. Great fictional manga for you spirit seeking manga fans out there.

"The Queen of Babble Gets Hitched" by Meg Cabot

In "The Queen of Babble Gets Hitched", a woman named Lizzie Nichols becomes engaged to Luke de Villier of France. Without realizing it she falls in love with Luke's best friend Chaz, after realizing that saying "yes" to Luke's ring was a HUGE mistake she notices how deep of a hole she's dug. When Luke goes to France to for the summer Lizzie "accidently" sleeps with Chaz. Her job as a wedding gown restorer is going well until the owners decide to sell the shop... along with the apartment above it, which just so happens to be her home!!!

Will the engagement between Lizzie and Luke turn into a disaster? Will Chaz show a ring to Lizzie? Will LIzzie save her job? Find out in "The Queen of Babble Gets Hitched"by Meg Cabot.

Thursday, July 17, 2008

"Heart of Dorkness" By John Kovalic

Heart of Dorkness is a full collection of issues #13 - #17 of the Dork Tower comic series. It's a series about Matt, a bald, nerdy guy, Igor, a short obnoxious guy with a big nose, Carson, a muskrat who talks, and Ken, the responsible one of the group. What do all these people and the one animal have in common? They are all gamers, all geeks, all fanboys! John Kovalic does a wonderful job in portraying Dorkness in a funny and true way. This collection starts with Matt going through his mail, when he gets a letter he didn't expect. His ex-girlfriend Kayleigh is moving back into town, and she wants to get together with Matt for a drink. After a bit of drinking and talking, the two of them leave, then share a passionate kiss (causing a great disturbance in the force). Afterwards, Matt realizes that he left his sketchbook inside. As he goes inside to get it, he runs into a girl named Gilly. Afterwards the next morning, he wakes up with a bad hangover, and little memory of what happened last night. All he remembers is the he kissed Kayleigh. Igor then tells him that he really doesn't need to worry about it and that they're going to the Renaissance Fair. The story then shifts to Kayleigh who's at a cybercafe talking with a friend. He friend questions why she 's getting back together with Matt. Kayleigh says that Matt's smart, fun, funny and cute in a neurotic way, though he wastes his talent. Back at Matt's house, Igor is screaming over the fact that Matt invited Kayleigh to the Renaissance Fair. Someone rings the doorbell, Igor tells Matt that he invited a friend too. I shall leave it there, so there's more for you to read. This fictional comic book series gets a five of five stars in my opinion for the same reason Lawell Cunningham, creator, Men in Black liked it, "Through Dork Tower John manages to show the basic humanity of geeks and the basic geekness of humanity." I recommend reading this if mild language and alcohol use doesn't really get to you.

Wednesday, July 9, 2008

"Redwall" by Brian Jacques

Redwall is the first book in the Redwall Series. The adventures of a young mouse, Matthias, who has always dreamt of being a warrior of Redwall, is the inspiration of the novel. Cluny the Scourge, a character whom beings can scarcely think about with out cringing, and his horde of rats plan to take over Redwall. In a fierce battle, the two completely different brigades merge into combat. With Cluny's evil ways he steals a prized possesion from Redwall. Their hero, their inspriation, their hope. Luckily Matthias, the bravest mouse of them all, searches for the sword of Martin the Great.

This adventure is full of thrilling, dangerous, and spectacular events. "You'll get caught up in the action and become a character in the book". You are guaranteed a story you'll never forget!

Thursday, July 3, 2008

"Inu Yasha" By Rumiko Takahashi

This Manga series is about a modern-day girl named Kagome who lives at a Japanese shrine. She didn't believe in things like spirits, demons, or anything supernatural, until she was pulled down the shrine's well by a centipede demon into Feudal Japan. There she finds a young man bound to a tree by roots with an arrow in him who also seems to have dog ears. She is found by the local villagers, and brought back to their village. The village's priestess, Lady Kaede, then examines her, and finds that Kagome looks a lot like her dead sister Kikyo, the former priestess and protector of the village. Soon after, the centipede demon who attacked Kagome before comes back, looking for "The Jewel of Four Souls." Kagome runs into the forest, and finds the young man from before tied to the tree. The man mistakes Kagome for Kikyo, and tells her to destroy the centipede like she destroyed him. Kagome then tells the young man that she's not Kikyo, as the centipede demon continues to attack. The demon bites into Kagome, ripping out the jewel of four souls. The young man yells to Kagome to give him the jewel, but the demon wraps up Kagome to the tree with Inu Yasha and says to the young man, "Inu-Yasha who seeks the Shikon Jewel... I have heard of a half-demon by such a name... At last we meet." The demon then eats the jewel, mutating into a more powerful state. Inu Yasha then demands that Kagome pull the arrow out of him. Kagome does this, and Inu Yasha bursts out of the roots, and the grasp of the centipede, and with one strike, sends the demon bursting into many pieces. There's much more, but I'll let you read it. After all, this is just the first manga. This book I would recomend to older teens who like a lot of demon killing, and don't mind mature content. I rate this manga series a five of five stars.

Wednesday, June 25, 2008

"Everlost" by Neal Shusterman

In the book Everlost by Neal Shusterman there are two kids who die in a car accident, but instead of going to heaven they get stuck in a place between heaven and earth. The two kids, Nick and Allie, become friends with this boy they call Lief. Lief died when he was nine. Nick and Allie meet alot of kids in their journies with Lief, but none of them stay together for very long. If you want an adventure then read this book. i would rate this book a FIVE out of FIVE because it was a book I couldn't stop reading.

Tuesday, June 17, 2008

"The White Darkness" by Geraldine McCaughrean

As a teenage girl who is obsessed with Antarctica, Sym is thrilled when her brilliant Uncle Victor steals her away from home and school for a three-week trip of a lifetime to that frozen wonderland. Sym is definitely in need of an adventure after experiencing the death of her father and bullying at school, and at first, Antarctica is everything she had always dreamed it would be - a place of incredible beauty and unimaginable emptiness, which somehow makes Sym feel stronger and more confident than she had ever felt at home. Soon, however, the other members of the travel group are feeling sick and incapacitated, and Uncle Victor's hidden agenda for the trip is revealed. Sym soon finds herself fighting for survival is one of the most uninhabitable places on earth, where even a few seconds of unprotected exposure means certain death.

McCaughrean's writing is lyrical, spell-binding, and spine-tingling. The visually lush descriptions of the hypnotic beauty of Antartica are seamlessly intermingled with Sym's attempts to remain sane and alive in unendurable circumstances. The reader, along with Sym, is drawn slowly and magnetically into the truths hidden in the alien landscape.

I rate this fiction tale of suspense FOUR and a HALF out of FIVE Stars.

Friday, June 13, 2008

"Years of the Sword" By R. J. Unstead

This book tells the tale of Europe during the Middle Ages from 1300 to 1485. This book has within it, 42 chapters, each consisting of 2 pages and has a time chart and and index, the total number of pages being 90. This book uses many pictures, and in my opinion, too many pictures. I felt that there was a lack of text, and thus, a lack of detail. The book brings up subjects such as The Black Death, The Wars of the Roses, and Corruption in the Church, but does not go into detail. I would recommend this non-fiction, to someone, mildly interested in the Middle Ages, but would not use it for research. A lack of detail, far too many pictures, and short chapters, is why this book gets a 2 of 5 stars. Better luck next time, R. J. Unstead.

Monday, June 9, 2008

"Early Japan" By Jonathan Norton Leonard

This book is for those who wish to learn about Japan's early history. It covers history from Japan's savage beginnings to Commodore Matthew Perry's landing in Japan. It tells all it can about this mystical land, sparing no detail. At the end of each of the eight chapters is a picture essay that tells about Japan with images and captions. This book explains Japanese culture, religion, and traditions. It crafts the story of Japan's civil wars, the rise and falls of its countless shoguns and emperors. If you are interested in early Japanese culture, or just like to know about many different cultures, then this is the book you should read. I give this nonfiction a 5 of 5 stars. Hail to the land of the rising sun!

Wednesday, June 4, 2008

"The Secret Life of Bees" By: Sue Monk Kidd

This book is about a girl named Lily Owens who is growing up in the year 1964. When Lily was around 4, her mother was killed and now Lily is forced to live with the guilt of what really happened. As if that wasn't bad enough, Lily's "Stand in Mother", who is black, insults three white men in South Carolina, where they live. Lily breaks her out of jail and they escape to Tiburon, South Carolina, where Lily stays with three black beekeeping sisters. While there, Lily learns much about her mother and is introduced to the world of bees and honey and the Black Madonna.

Overall, this book was a pretty good book. There were a few parts that made me want to stop reading, but I couldn't since it was for English. Everytime there was a bad part and I wanted to stop reading, I continued and was glad that I did. I would reccommend this book to anyone that is mature enough to read it since there is alot of bad language throught-out it. I would give this book a 4/5 stars.

"Horseradish Bitter Truths You Can't Avoid" By Lemony Snicket

This book is by Lemony Snicket, but is not in the series of unfortunate events, even though the book is a very unfortunate one to read. It is a book full of advice about many things that you'll commonly come across. It is full of witty exerts from his thirteen book series of unfortunate events, and will really make one think. Perhaps however, it is better to avoid this book, as it is better to avoid a very angry football star on his way to jury duty. If you do choose to read this book, do not try to come to it for advice, as if you wanted good advice you should have listened to my warning. You could come to this book if advice is not your concern and if you rather you would like to think upon things, such as someone may wonder why you're reading that book and not something more pleasant. All in all, I give this book a 5 of 5 stars, for I was not looking for advice, but was looking for a good book from a great author.

Tuesday, June 3, 2008

"The Rag and Bone Shop" By Robert Cormier

This book is a tale of an innocent young boy, a determined interrogator, and a dead young girl. The story? A young girl named Alicia was killed, and the only one to see her alive was a young boy named Jason...except, of course, the one who killed her, unless Jason was the one who killed her. To find out if Jason was that man, an insomniac detective named Braxton hires an interrogator named Trent. Throughout the coarse of this book, Trent peers into the mind of Jason to discover his true nature. Trent ruthlessly warps Jason's mind, twists Jason's thinking, and defaces Jason's state of mind. I found this to be a great book. However, the ending was somewhat unsatisfying. The irony is almost idiotic when the murderer is found. However, I did somewhat feel satisfied with how Jason turned out. All in all, I give this fictional book a 4/5 stars. Too bad we can't see more great things from Robert Cormier, as he died after finishing this book.

Monday, May 19, 2008

"Skylab" By William J. Cromie

This is the true tale of Skylab, man's first Space Station. In 140 pages, this book tells the tale of all three missions into Skylab to collect information about what space does to humans. Not all that was planned happened in the missions, and disaster almost overcame the station from day one. But true to the motto of Skylab, "We fix anything," these errors were overcame. Much information was gathered in space, and new discoveries were made. It was proved that humans can survive an extensive period in space without complications. Many other discoveries were made, such as that forging is better done in space, where lack of gravity lets any element combine, and with less impurities. It was also found that spiders, after a little bit of time, can spin webs in zero-gravity. One interesting discovery is that an adult fish brought into space needs time to get used to swimming with no gravity, yet a fish born in space swims like it was meant to be there. This was a glorious book for me to read, and it made me realize just how far we've come. This, the information provided, and the images are the reason I give this book a 5/5 stars.

"The Language of Cookery An Informal Dictionary" By Betty Wason Illustrated by Ruth Feibelman

This book is for all those chefs out there. It is titled, "The Language of Cookery" and is just that. It is a dictionary of cooking terms, from A-1 Steak Sauce to Zwieback, it covers every cooking term you'll come across. It is an amazing book, with over 1100 words, and with an appendix section that includes Beef, Lamb, Pork, and Veal cuts, and also has a chart of pan sizes, and equivalent measures for dries, liquids, and foods. I enjoyed reading this book, as it increased my interest in cooking, and has given me new vocab, and a greater understanding of food terms and where they originate. For example, the term, "Cordon Bleu" is a French term that literally means, "Blue Ribbon," and is a famous French cooking school. Another example is that gingerbread is more of a spice cake than a bread. If you like to cook, or rather just eat, this book is a great one to have, in the kitchen, in the home, and anywhere you might cook. The book's coverage of terms is why I give it a 5/5 stars.

Thursday, May 15, 2008

"Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry" By Mildred D. Taylor

The book, "Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry" is one that I read in Social Studies. It has won many awards, such as The Newberry Medal, it was a National Book Award nominee, it was an ALA Notable Book, and has won the Pacific Northwest Young Readers Award. It is the fictional tale of the Logan family living in Mississippi during the height of the 1930's Depression. As quoted from the jacket of the book, "More than a work of fiction, this is a story culled from Ms. Taylor's own family's life and it stands and it stands as an important record of an African-American experience from our country's complicated and not-so-distant past." I recommend this book for those who wish to look into the life of an African-American family during the depression. Such a vivid recollection of this kind of life, is why I give this book a Five of Five stars. I however, didn't really enjoy reading this book. True, the tale of Cassie is inspirational, but it didn't really capture my attention. Other than that, all aspects of the book were beautiful.

"Lemony Snicket's A Series of Unfortunate Events Book The First, The Bad Begining" By Lemony Snicket

This book is the first book in the Series of Unfortunate Events. It is the first book the author, Lemony Snicket worked on, and should be the first one you read. It is a fictional tale of three children, Violet, Clause, and Sunny Baudelaire. Violet is the oldest and wears a ribbon in her hair when thinking, Clause is the middle child who is an extravagant reader, who has probably read more books than most people do in a life time, and Sunny is the youngest, and is a baby who enjoys to bite. The book starts with the three of them at Briney Beach, when they receive terrible news from their family's friend and financial advisor, Mr. Poe. The Baudelaire's parents have died in a fire that burned down their entire mansion. The three orphans then are forced to live with their uncle Count Olaf. The three Baudelaires soon discover that he is a cruel man, who is the leader of a theater troupe. I would recommend this book to those who do not mind books with no happy endings. I give this book a 5 of 5 stars, as I can read and reread it, and still feel the story.

"Red Glass" by Laura Resau

In the book Red Glass Sophie, the main character, and her family meet this boy named Pablo. Pablo and Sophie take a trip to his village. Pablo must decide whether he wants to stay with Sophie or his family. to find out more about Pablo and Sophie's adventures read the book Red Glass by Laura Resau. i think this book should be rated a 5 out of 5.

Thursday, May 8, 2008

"Jack's Run" by Roland Smith

This book by Roland Smith is the sequel to "Zach's Lie" and if you haven't read "Zach's Lie" yet you might want to do that before you read this book. This book is about a kid named Jack but in the middle of the story his name gets changed to Mack. In the last book, Jack messed up by telling people who he really was, but in this book someone else in his family messes up.... to find out who it is pick this book up at your local library. If I hadn't put the book down, it probably would have taken me two to three days to complete this book. It grabs your attention!

I rate this book a five out of five stars!

Wednesday, May 7, 2008

"The Lorax" by Doctor Seuss

The Lorax, by Doctor Seuss, is probably one of the best books I, or any other person, shall ever read. It is the tale of a little creature known as the Lorax, who is the guardian of the Truffula trees in his quest to try and stop the Once-ler. It becomes a sad tale, but one that truly shows what effect industry can have. I give this book a 5 out of 5, because of how it truly tells the story of what's being done to our environment. I don't want to spoil any part of the story for you, so I think I'll leave out the summary. But I will say that this book can be a great source of inspiration.

Monday, May 5, 2008

"The True Meaning of Smekday" by Adam Rex

You would think that a book about aliens conquering Earth would be full of futuristic weapons, gory battles, and lots of ugly, horrific aliens, right? What you might NOT expect, and what you get plenty of in "The True Meaning of Smekday," is a lot of laughs along with the aliens, the adventure, and an extremely plucky and likeable heroine. Gratuity Tucci is an 11-year-old trying to reunite with her mother after the latter is abducted by the conquering alien race of Boov. The Boov, a race of three-foot high creatures with tiny hands and many legs, have ordered the entire human race to Arizona, and Gratuity is determined to get there illegally by driving by herself in her mom's old car along with their pet cat, Pig. Complications ensue when:

1. her car is damaged by patrolling Boov
2. her car is fixed by a Boov calling himself J.Lo
3. J.Lo reveals he is on the run from other Boov because of a horrible mistake he has made, and
4. J.Lo's horrible mistake involved insulting yet another conquering race of aliens.

So how does Gratuity juggle traveling with an enemy alien, looking for her mom, and trying to save the human race? With a lot of adventure, determination, and acceptance that friendship and family often comes in unexpected combinations.

If you like your thrillers interspersed with a lot of fun, you will love this book. I rate it FIVE out of FIVE stars!

Check out the funny official website, too:

Tuesday, April 29, 2008

"Swallowing Stones" by Joyce McDonald

July 4th- Michael's 17th birthday. It's the day he should just relax and have fun enjoying his party. Nothing could go wrong, right? WRONG!!!

For Michael's birthday, his grandfather gives him a rifle that he had as a boy. Michael is proud of it and shows it off. He decides to try it out-no one would hear it. There are fireworks going off.

The next day Michael takes his driving test and hears a report over the radio. A man was shot and no one knew how. Michael knows it had to be him.

Will Michael come clean about the accident or will he "Swallow the Stone" and keep it a secret?

This was an excellent book.It deserves a 5 out of 5. This book will have the reader on the edge of their seat waiting to see what will happen. It was hard to stop reading this book, it was that good!!! I would recommend this book to all readers.

Wednesday, April 23, 2008

"Breathe" by Penni Russon

The book is about this girl, Undine, who learns she can do magic like her parents. Her dad takes her to greece on a vacation and tells her about his childhood. Undine's baby brother makes a new friend and shows her a magic trick. Undine's best friend Trout knows that she can do magic. Trout thought that he should be dead, but realizes he was wrong.

Sunday, April 20, 2008

" The Mysterious Benedict Society" by Trenton Lee Stewart

"Are you a Gifted Child looking for special opportunities?"

When this ad appears in the newspaper, many kids enroll to take the many mind-bending tests. However only 4 children are chosen. Reynie, Sticky,Kate and Constance are told to go on a secret mission that only intelligent and resourceful children will be able to complete. To suceed at this mission, they have to go undercover at the Learning Institute for the Very Enlightened. As they face both physical and mental challenges, their only option is to turn to each other for support. With their new friendship at stake, will they be able to pass the most important test of all?

This book has got to be one of the greatest books ever written. The reader is able to help solve the many riddles that the Mysterious Benedict Society solve. This book is exciting and was very hard to stop reading. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes to read puzzle books that force you to use your brain to solve the riddle. In my opinion, this book deserves a 5 out of 5 and is a must read for anyone.

Thursday, April 3, 2008

"Kicked Out" by Beth Goobie

Kicked Out by Beth Goobie is about Dime, 15, going through a rough time with her parents so she moves in with her paralyzed brother, Darren. Her parents had a problem with everything that Dime did just because she wasn't the way they wanted her to be. She was the kind of girl who hangs out with 17 year old guys and dresses differently then most girls in highschool. Her parents make her curfew at nine o'clock. Her and her parents got into a fight one night because she was late and they told her that it's their house and their rules, and you'll obey them... and that's when she said make me. Everything changed in that moment. She was going through a hard time in her life. Nothing was going right. The boy she liked kept playing games with her head. He'd like her one day then the next him and his ex were back together. Will things get better for her? Will she get the boy to understand how much she really likes him? And will she move back in with her parents? I rate this book a three out of five.

"No Problem" by Dayle Cambell Gaetz

No Problem by Dayle Cambell Gaetz is about a teenage boy, Curt, who is stressed out about baseball and his girlfriend and his father pressuring him to be the best baseball player in the world. His new girlfriend, Leah, has just moved into his city and he started to date her but things got a little weird. She'd have to leave to go home and she wouldn't tell Curt why she had to leave so suddenly. Then he met this girl named Rachel, that gave him a ride home one night but instead they went back to her place and she was smoking and drinking. Then she pulled out a baggie of white powder and he asked "cocaine?" and she said "yeah, its way better then beer. Try some." And she pushed it toward him. And she said "come on, it won't hurt you." So as she sprinkled the white powder onto her hand mirror. He tried some. Will that mess up his future for baseball? Will Leah confess why she always acts weird and has to leave suddenly? What will happen? Take a chance and read this book. I gaurentee you'll love it and won't be able to put it down. I rate this book a four out of five!!!!

Thursday, March 20, 2008

"Child Called It" by Dave Pelzer

This is a book that is not for little kids! The punishments that Dave suffers, and eventually survives, is impossible to even imagine...a young kid experiencing severe abuse. I couldn't get through reading the book without crying. Dave wrote this book for his anger mangement classes to deal with all the anger that he held for his mother. I love this story because it really grabded my attention with all the drama that happens in it. I couldn't put the book down! I rate this true story a five out of five stars.